Although people such as the Holdens, Mannings, Battleys, Fosters and the Taylors had all enjoyed the majestic Tuggerah Lake right on their doorstep, people from the nearby cities were also discovering the magic of this idyllic area.
It was a picturesque holiday destination, ideal for relaxation, swimming, fishing and prawning. It was perfect for people living in the busy cities such as Sydney and Newcastle, allowing them to escape the rush and bustle of everyday city life.
A site at North Entrance was acquired in 1870 by Edward Hargraves, who was said to be the first man to discover payable gold in Australia. Tourism in the district began in 1885 with the opening of the Dunleith Guest House at North Entrance. It was the brainchild of Mr and Mrs Walter Denniss who owned several acres of land on the Northern side of the lake. Mrs Denniss was the granddaughter of Edward Hargraves. They could see that holiday makers were starting to make their way to the area on a regular basis. Tourism was beginning and continued to increase rapidly.
Transport was arranged by Walter Denniss who carried tourists from the wharf at Tuggerah in his launch “Ada”. So successful was this enterprise that the Taylor family on the Southern side followed by his example.
“Bayview Guest House” was built in 1900 by Mr and Mrs H Dening. Mrs Dening was the eldest daughter of Mr Richard Taylor. In those days road transport was difficult as there was only a bush track leading in from Gosford. All guests were met and brought out to the Guest House by waggonette or buggy. They could also offer water transport via Taylor’s Ferries from Tuggerah Wharf. “Bayview” boasted 42 rooms and it became so popular that a capacity occupancy was not unusual. During the peak trading season it was necessary to hold three sittings for meals. The food was outstanding, as the staff raised their own poultry and pork. It was a home away from home so visitors kept on coming back.
“Pinehurst” was built in 1903 by the late Mr A.C.L (Les) Taylor, Richard Taylor’s eldest son. It was a wonderful place to stay and the owners marketed well.
An advertisement in an early tourist guide was listed as:
- First class accommodation for visitors
- Lake Deep Water Frontage
- Excellent swimming
- Right on the best fishing grounds
- Tennis Court
- Billiard Room
- Dancing Verandah
- Music Room
- Piano Player
- Hot and cold baths
By 1912 the adult members of the Taylor family were operating four guest houses in The Entrance with Taylor’s Ferry Service successfully transporting visitors from the newly constructed wharf at Wyong.
Bayview Guest House had become the largest guest house operating in the Gosford, Wyong district. It had grown to accommodate 150 guests and also offered comfortably furnished tents for the people who preferred outdoor living.